Vocal Fix It Suite | Psycho Circuity

Vocal editing sometimes requires many tools to achieve the optimum result. To successfully remove plosives, crosstalk from other signal sources or click sounds, there is now a new plugin suite from the manufacturer Psycho Circuitry.

What is included in the Plugin Suite?

There are two versions of the Plugin Suite. A free version, which is also the subject of this blog article, and a paid version, the so-called Vocal Fix It Suite +. You can buy or download them directly from the Psycho Circuitry website.

The individual plug-ins De-Bleed, De-Plosiv and De-Click are included in both versions. The free alternative is limited to a few parameters that can be set in the plugins.

De-bleed

Another gate in the toolbox – that’s how you could describe the De-Bleed plugin. In my experience, it can be worth comparing different gates and replacing them depending on the application. The simple user interface allows you to quickly set the threshold and the “Delta” button allows you to listen to what the plugin removes from the processed audio track. A virtual LED on the left-hand side indicates when the gate is active.

De-click

Click sounds can be one of the biggest problems that make a voice recording impossible or take up a lot of time in post-production.
The De-Click plugin tackles precisely this problem in one way – quickly and easily.
The threshold is set with the large central knob and the annoying click sounds can be identified in a hurry, again using the “Delta” button. The status between active and inactive can also be seen quickly in this plugin using the virtual LED.

De-plosive

If the speaker was too close to the microphone, plosive sounds often occur in the recording, especially when using a dynamic microphone and its proximity effect.

The De-Plosiv plugin edits precisely these plosive sounds. The 1-knob concept is also used here. The necessary sensitivity is quickly set and the recording is one step more professional.

 

Conclusion

Having a toolbox filled with useful plugins for every area of application is certainly not a bad idea. The plug-in suite from Psycho Circuitry, even in the free version, is certainly worth a download. It doesn’t quite come close to the competition like Izotope RX, but the price is also worlds apart. The CPU load is another thing that clearly speaks in favor of the Vocal Fix It Suite.

 

Dennis Cords

April 20, 2024

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dennis Cords

Audio Engineer.
Podcasting, Mixing, Live Sound, Sound Design

10 + 7 =

Consent Management Platform by Real Cookie Banner

Vocal Fix It Suite | Psycho Circuitry

Zur Sprachbearbeitung braucht es teilweise viele Tools um das optimale Ergebnis zu erreichen. Um Plosive, das Übersprechen von anderen Signalquellen oder Click-Laute erfolgreich entfernen zu können, gibt es nun eine neue Plugin Suite vom Hersteller Psycho Circuitry.

Was ist in der Plugin Suite enthalten?

Es gibt zwei Versionen der Plugin Suite. Eine kostenlose Variante, mit der sich auch dieser Blogartikel befasst und eine kostenpflichtige Variante die sogenannte Vocal Fix It Suite +. Kaufen oder herunterladen könnt ihr sie direkt auf der Herstellerseite von Psycho Circuitry.

In beiden Varianten sind die einzelnen Plugins De-Bleed, De-Plosiv und De-Click enthalten. Die kostenfreie Alternative beschränkt sich hier auf wenigere Parameter die in den Plugins eingestellt werden können.

De-Bleed

Ein weiteres Gate im Werkzeugkasten – so könnte man das Plugin De-Bleed bezeichnen. Ich habe die Erfahrung gemacht, dass es sich durchaus lohnen kann unterschiedlichste Gates zu vergleichen und je nach Anwendungsfall auszutauschen. Die simple Benutzeroberfläche ermöglicht ein schnelles Einstellen des Thresholds und mit dem „Delta“ Button lässt sich das Abhören, was vom Plugin aus der bearbeiteten Audiospur entfernt wird. Eine virtuelle LED-Anzeige im linken Bereich zeigt an wann das Gate aktiv ist. 

De-Click

Click-Laute können mit eines der größten Probleme sein, die eine Sprachaufnahme zu nicht machen, oder aber sehr viel Zeit in der Nachbearbeitung in Anspruch nehmen. 
Mit dem De-Click Plugin wird genau dieser Problematik der Kampf angesagt und das vor allem in einer Weise – schnell und unkompliziert. 
Mit dem großen mittigen Regler wird der Threshold eingestellt und in Windes Eile können, wieder über den „Delta“-Button die störenden Click-Laute ausfindig gemacht werden. Auch in diesem Plugin wird mittels der virtuellen LED der Status zwischen aktiv und inaktiv schnell ersichtlich. 

De-Plosiv

War der/die Sprecher*in zu dicht am Mikrofon kommt es in der Aufnahme häufig zu Plosiv-Lauten, grade bei der Verwendung eines dynamischen Mikrofons und dessen Nahbesprechungs-Effekts. 

Mit dem Plugin De-Plosiv werden genau diese Plosiv-Laute bearbeitet. Das 1-Regler-Konzept findet auch hier Anwendung. Schnell ist die notwendige Sensitivität eingestellt und die Aufnahme einen Schritt professioneller. 

 

Fazit

Den Werkzeug-Kasten mit nützlichen Plugins für jedweden Anwendungsbereich gefüllt zu haben ist sicherlich keine schlechte Idee. Die Plugin-Suite von Psycho Circuitry, auch in der kostenfreien Variante, ist sicherlich einen Download wert. An die Konkurrenz wie Izotope RX kommt es nicht ganz ran, aber hier liegen preislich auch Welten dazwischen. Auch die CPU-Auslastung ist eine Sache die hier klar für die Vocal Fix It Suite spricht.

 

Dennis Cords

April 20, 2024

0 Kommentare

Einen Kommentar abschicken

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Dennis Cords

Audio Engineer.
Podcasting, Mixing, Live Sound, Sound Design

15 + 13 =

Consent Management Platform von Real Cookie Banner